Skip to main content

Le célèbre saxophoniste Russe Igor Butman, accompagné  de son Big Band, le Moscow Jazz Orchestra fêtait son 60ème anniversaire dans l’enceinte du Kremlin de Moscou et en profitait pour inviter son ami Winton Marsalis qui monta sur scène avec son propre Big Band, le Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra. Les deux hommes fêtaient leur 60ème anniversaire.  L’événement eut lieu le 27 octobre 2021, dans l’immense salle (6 000* places assises) du State Kremlin Palace.

Ce jubilatoire et mega concert de jazz fut un moment rare et exceptionnel pour plusieurs raisons :

  • Malgré le contexte Covid que le monde entier connait, l’événement put avoir lieu le jour même de l’anniversaire d’Igor Butman et 9 jours après celui de Winton Marsalis, né le 18 octobre 1961.

…Le lendemain, le 28 octobre, Moscou reconfinait pour cause de pandémie à nouveau galopante, sa population de plus de 65 ans et annulait toutes les manifestations culturelles.

  • Réunir sur une même scène, aussi large et profonde fut-elle, deux big Bands, au grand complet, l’un américain, l’autre russe, est une autre gageure riche de symboles qui s’inscrivent parfaitement au sein même des valeurs que défend le jazz : liberté, tolérance, respect et écoute de l’autre.

A ce propos, en conférence de Presse avant le concert, Igor Butman nous rappela l’histoire du Jazz en Russie – qui certes connut un développement plus chaotique que celui des Etats-Unis mais apparut il y a également une centaine d’années, en 1922.

Pourquoi le jazz fut-il populaire dès ses débuts en Union Soviétique ? Sans doute parce qu’il est né également de l’esclavage que connut le peuple Russe, les moujiks en particulier. L’esclavage ne fut pas, hélas, une exclusivité des peuples Africains enchaînés dans les champs de coton des Etats-Unis d’Amérique comme dans tout le continent Américain. D’autres formes d’esclavage existaient dans les grandes plaines de Russie, comme ailleurs dans le monde et aboutirent à la révolution de 1917 que nous connaissons.

La suite de l’Histoire nous montre que les peuples de ces deux grands pays élirent plus tard Monsieur Trump et Monsieur Poutine… C’est étonnant, mais c’est une autre histoire.

Le Jazz en Russie connut des hauts et des bas, mais le peuple Russe, passionné de toutes les  musiques populaires et savantes ne pouvait ignorer cette musique hallucinante, même si il l’observa parfois avec méfiance :

« Celui qui aime le Jazz, bientôt trahit sa patrie »: Andreï Jdanov, ministre de la Culture de Staline

En résumé, si le jazz fut parfois mis au ban par l’administration, ce n’est pas à cause de son esthétique, mais des symboles du  monde occidental honni en URSS.

Aujourd’hui, le Jazz en Russie est en plein développement. Igor Butman en est incontestablement la figure de proue. L’homme extrêmement actif, possède deux clubs de jazz au sein même de la capitale Russe, ainsi qu’une académie de Jazz.

Soutenir les jeunes artistes est très important pour Butman : « Notre école de musique est jeune, mais il y a beaucoup de passion dans notre jazz, déclare -t’il. Notre fondation est une puissante armée de musiciens classiques et nous avons une école académique très forte.

Pour rappel, non seulement remarqué très tôt par Winton Marsalis, Igor Butman réputé comme étant le meilleur de sa génération fut adoubé par Barak Obama qui s’y connait en Jazz et qui déclara qu’Igor Butman était le plus grand saxophoniste actuel. Grandi en Union soviétique, il partit aux États-Unis en 1987 où il étudia au Berklee College of Music. En 1993, de retour en Russie il se transforme  en Jazz Bridge entre Moscou et New York, jouant en Russie avec les plus grandes figures du jazz américain : Eddie Gomez, Lenny White, John Abercrombie ou Joe Lock.

Il organise de nombreux festivals de jazz qui se tiennent annuellement en Russie. Parmi eux figurent, le Triumph of Jazz à Moscou et Saint-Pétersbourg, Aquajazz à Sotchi, Skolkovo Jazz

Lors de l’interview qu’il consacre juste avant le concert aux six journalistes Européens présents lors de cette manifestation d’exception et dont Couleurs Jazz Media représente la France, il nous confie : lors de ce concert nous jouerons de grands compositeurs Russses comme Chostakovitch, de grands compositeurs américains comme Duke Ellington, Billy Strayhorn, … le tout dans un même lieu. Et vous verrez que dans tous les cas, ça swingue ! On s’est arrangés avec Winton pour que les deux big bands se renvoient la balle, se partagent toutes ces musiques. Nous profitons de l’opportunité que le Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra soit en ce moment en tournée. Aussi il jouera quelques-unes de ses récentes compositions. Puis après l’entracte, nous rendrons hommage, chacun des big bands à son tour, à l’esclavage que nos deux peuples ont connu. Nous avons tous des chansons traditionnelles que nous interprèterons à cette occasion. Nous jouerons « Work Song – Volga Boatmen »

Après cette conférence de presse, nous profitons de notre guide pour faire quelques pas dans le Kremlin, fermé à cette heure au public, avant l’ouverture des portes du du grand State Kremlin Palace. Tous les 100 mètre un gardien en arme nous demande nos laisser-passés, nos passeports à la page « visa », nos tests PCR made in Russia (les tests PCR européens, comme les vaccins américains ou anglais n’ont ici aucune valeur). Finalement un gardien plus zélé nous intime l’ordre de cesser immédiatement notre visite touristique. Le Parti Communiste a disparu, mais pas la bureaucratie absconse qui décidément demeure.

©Photo Couleurs jazz

Nous avons ainsi le temps d’observer la taille monumentale du bâtiment construit sous Nikita Khrouchtchevavant de pénétrer dans le vaste hall et de prendre place dans de confortables et larges fauteuils.

Quand le rideau se lève, les deux big-bands apparaissent, le Moscow Jazz Orchestra à gauche, le Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra à droite. Légèrement en avant de la scène Igor Butman, dirige principalement sonBig Band et parfois lance des invitations au Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchetra. Winton Marsalis, comme à son habitude, est en retrait au dernier rang de son Big Band, parmi la section des trompettes.

Parfois les deux orchestres conversent en groupe, parfois les solistes se répondent d’Est en Ouest ou vice et versa. C’est fascinant !

Le concert commence par une reprise de la 7ème Symphonie de Chostakovitch sous la direction d’Igor Butman. Les arrangements soignés sont signés Nick Leninovsky. Les deux orchestres jouent à l’unisson et les courts chorus alternent de l’un à l’autre des Big Bands. Puis les morceaux s’enchainent, joués alternativement par l’une ou l’autre des formations sous le regard attentif de l’orchestre « adverse ». Adverseétant un qualificatif très mal adapté, tant l’amicale rivalité lors de cette soirée, est une invitation à l’écoute de l’autre. Un chorus du jeune guitariste Russe Evgeny Pobozhiy qui n’a pas d’alter ego côté américain ce soir là, nous séduit particulièrement. Nous regretterons qu’on ne lui offre pas davantage d’opportunités d’exprimer tout son talent. Côté Lincoln Center Orchestra, c’est le chorus du saxophoniste baryton et clarinette basse Paul Nedzela qui laisse la salle bouche bée.

À noter, l’acoustique exceptionnelle. Chapeau bas aux ingénieurs du son qui font un travail remarquable.

Après ce premier morceau c’est une festival d’improvisations autour du thème « Blood in the Fields » par l’orchestre de Marsalis sous les regards attentifs de tous les musiciens du Moscow Jazz Orchestra.

Puis les morceaux s’enchaînent interprétés en alternance par les deux Big Bands qui ainsi se répondent. « Here is She Young Beauty » d’un côté, “Concerto For Joe” de l’autre

A chaque changement, il est intéressant de constater que les musiciens qui ne jouent pas tournent leurs regards ou parfois même leurs corps en direction de l’autre orchestre, arborant le plus souvent un large sourire, accompagnant les chorus d’un hochement de tête approbatif ou admiratif de connaisseurs.

C’est comme si deux équipes sportives regardaient jouer l’équipe adverse, dribblant, s’envoyant la balle et applaudissaent la performance.

Le premier set se termine sur un splendide « Baby I Love You »  (Musique de Wynton Marsalis, paroles de Bobby McFerrin, arrangement de Nikolai Levinovsky) – Oleg Akkuratov, Igor Butman et l’Orchestre de jazz de Moscou

L’entracte permet de monter tous les étages de ce gigantesque bâtiment et d’admirer à travers les larges baies vitrées, le Kremlin la nuit…Spectacle dans le spectacle.

©Photo Couleurs Jazz

Le deuxième set commence par ce profond « Work Song », sur une musique de Nikolai Levinovsky) – Igor Butman et le Moscow Jazz Orchestra, Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra avec Wynton Marsalis où les orchestres se répondent à nouveau.

Plusieurs stars de la pop et du rock, crooners chanteuses sont invités à participer à la fête d’anniversaire d’Igor Butman, parmi lesquelles Fantine, à qui nous avons donné le nom de « Black Russian » née d’une mère Portoricaine à Moscow, Sergey Mazaev et Valeri Syutkin des rock stars très connue du public Moscovite à en juger par les smartphones qui se lèvent pour capturer quelques images.

A noter également l’intervention spectaculaire d’Oleg Akkuratov, le formidable et inspiré pianiste du Moscow Jazz Orchestra, qui possède une voix et autant de talent pour le chant que pour son clavier.

Il entonne soudain un « Baby I Love You » qui se transforme rapidement en « Joyeux anniversaire Igor! » ça sonne comme un Happy Birthday mais c’est en fait une composition de Wynton Marsalis qu’il reprend à la trompette et le tout part en joyeuse improi entre amis !

A cette occasion le frère d’Igor, Oleg Butman, les rejoint à la batterie.

Puis on assiste à des « Drum Battles », des Sax Battles, des trombones et des trompettes  battles individuelles entre les deux orchestres.

Le seul gagnant c’est le Jazz !

Un concert XXL d’exception dans un lieu rare.

Félicitations aux musiciens des deux équipes, aux techniciens, à nos guides Anna et Arlette.

Après une telle expérience, on en vient à rêver d’un monde meilleur où toutes les armées du monde seraient remplacées par des Big Bands de Jazz.

Personnel du Moscow Jazz Orchestra :

Igor Butman, saxophones tenor, alto et soprano

Daniil Nikitin, saxophone tenor

Anton Chekurov, saxophone alto

Ilya Morozov, saxophone alto

Aleksandr Dovgopolyi, saxophone baryton

Pavel Ovchinnikov, trombone

Sergei Dolzhenkov, trombone

Oleg Borodin, trombone

Nikolai Shevnin, trombone basse

Aleksandr Berenson, trompette

Pavel Zhulin, trompette

Ivan Akatov, trompette

Dmitry Zinakov, trompette

Evgeny Pobozhiy, guitare

Artem Baskakov, contrebasse

Eduard Zizak, batterie

Oleg Akkuratov, piano, voix

Evgenii Potsikaylik, soundman

Personnel du Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra.

Wynton Marsalis, Music Director, Trumpet

Ryan Kisor, Trumpet

Kenny Rampton, Trumpet

Marcus Printup, Trumpet

Chris Crenshaw, Trombone

Vincent Gardner, Trombone

Elliot Mason, Trombone

Walter Blanding, Tenor and Soprano Saxophones, Clarinet

Sherman Irby, Alto and Soprano Saxophones, Flute, Clarinet

Alexa Tarantino, Alto and Soprano Saxophones, Flute, Clarinet

Victor Goines, Tenor and Soprano Saxophones, Clarinet, Bass Clarinet

Paul Nedzela, Baritone and Soprano Saxophones, Bass Clarinet

Dan Nimmer, Piano

Carlos Henriquez, Bass

Obed Calvaire, drums

©Photo Couleurs Jazz

(*) En comparaison Le Grand auditorium du  Palais des Congrès de Paris compte 3700 places…

Sauf notification contraire, toutes les ©photos sont l’oeuvre du pool de photographes officiels accrédités que nous remercions ici.

Laisser un commentaire

Pin It on Pinterest

Skip to main content

The famous Russian saxophonist Igor Butman, accompanied by his Big Band, the Moscow Jazz Orchestra, celebrated his 60th birthday in the Moscow Kremlin and took the opportunity to invite his friend Winton Marsalis who took the stage with his own Big Band, the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra. Both men were celebrating their 60th anniversary.  The event took place on October 27, 2021, in the huge hall (6,000* seats) of the State Kremlin Palace.

This jubilant and mega jazz concert was a rare and exceptional moment for several reasons:

  • Despite the Covid context that the whole world knows, the event could take place on the same day as Igor Butman’s birthday and 9 days after Wynton Marsalis’ birthday, born on October 18, 1961.

…The next day, on October 28, Moscow reconfined its population over 65 years old because of the pandemic and cancelled all cultural events.

  • Bringing together on the same stage, as wide and deep as it may be, two Big Bands, one American, the other Russian, is another challenge rich in symbols that are perfectly in line with the values that jazz defends: freedom, tolerance, respect and listening to the other.

In a press conference before the concert, Igor Butman reminded us of the history of jazz in Russia, which had a more chaotic development than in the United States, but which also appeared a hundred years ago, in 1922.

Why was jazz popular from the beginning in the Soviet Union? Probably because it was also born from the slavery that the Russian people, the muzhiks in particular, experienced. Slavery was not, unfortunately, exclusive to the African peoples chained in the cotton fields of the United States of America, as it was throughout the American continent. Other forms of slavery existed in the Great Plains of Russia, as elsewhere in the world, and led to the revolution of 1917 that we know.

The rest of history shows us that the people of these two great countries later elected Mr. Trump and Mr. Putin… It’s amazing, but that’s another story.

Jazz in Russia had its ups and downs, but the Russian people, passionate about all popular and learned music, could not ignore this amazing music, even if they sometimes observed it with suspicion:

« He who loves Jazz, soon betrays his country »: Andreï Jdanov, Stalin’s Minister of Culture

In short, if jazz was sometimes banned by the administration, it was not because of its aesthetics, but because of the symbols of the Western world that were hated in the USSR.

Today, jazz in Russia is in full development. Igor Butman is undoubtedly the figurehead. This extremely active man owns two jazz clubs in the Russian capital, as well as a jazz academy.

Supporting young artists is very important to Butman: “Our music school is young, but there is a lot of passion in our jazz,” he says. Our foundation is a powerful army of classical musicians and we have a very strong academic school”.

As a reminder, not only was Igor Butman noticed early on by Wynton Marsalis, but he was also praised by Barak Obama, who knows a lot about jazz and declared Igor Butman to be the greatest saxophonist of his generation. Raised in the Soviet Union, he moved to the United States in 1987 where he studied at Berklee College of Music. In 1993, back in Russia, he became a Jazz Bridge between Moscow and New York, playing in Russia with the greatest figures of American jazz: Eddie Gomez, Lenny White, John Abercrombie or Joe Lock.

He organizes many jazz festivals held annually in Russia. Among them are Triumph of Jazz in Moscow and St. Petersburg, Aquajazz in Sochi, Skolkovo Jazz

During the interview he gave just before the concert to the six European journalists present at this exceptional event and for which Couleurs Jazz Media represents France, he confided to us: “during this concert we will play great Russian composers like Shostakovich, great American composers like Duke Ellington, Billy Strayhorn, … all in one place. And you will see that in all cases, it swings! We arranged with Wynton that the two big bands would pass the ball back and forth, sharing all this music. We’re taking advantage of the fact that the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra is on tour right now. So he will play some of his recent compositions. Then after intermission, we will pay tribute, each of the big bands in turn, to the slavery that our two peoples experienced. We all have traditional songs that we will perform for this occasion. We will play “Work Song – Volga Boatmen”.

After this press conference, we take advantage of our guide to take a few steps in the Kremlin, closed at this time to the public, before the opening of the doors of the big State Kremlin Palace. Every 100 meters an armed guard asks us for our passes, our passports on the “visa” page, our PCR tests made in Russia (the European PCR tests, like the American or English vaccines, have no value here). Finally, a more zealous guard orders us to stop our tourist visit immediately. The Communist Party has disappeared, but not the abstruse bureaucracy which decidedly remains.

©Photo Couleurs jazz

We have time to observe the monumental size of the building built under Nikita Khrushchev before entering the vast hall and taking our seats in comfortable and large armchairs.

When the curtain rises, the two big bands appear, the Moscow Jazz Orchestra on the left, the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra on the right. Slightly in front of the stage Igor Butman, mainly conducts his Big Band and sometimes invites the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchetra. Wynton Marsalis, as usual, is in the back row of his Big Band, among the trumpet section.

Sometimes the two orchestras converse as a group, sometimes the soloists answer each other from East to West or vice versa. It is fascinating!

The concert begins with a reprise of Shostakovich’s 7th Symphony conducted by Igor Butman. The careful arrangements are by Nick Leninovsky. The two orchestras play in unison and the short choruses alternate from one to the other of the Big Bands. Then the pieces follow one another, played alternately by one or the other of the bands under the attentive glance of the “opposite” orchestra. Opposite or Adverse being a very bad qualifier, so much the friendly rivalry during this evening, is an invitation to the listening of the other. A chorus of the young Russian guitarist Evgeny Pobozhiy who has no alter ego on the American side that evening, seduces us particularly. We regret that he was not given more opportunities to express all his talent. On the Lincoln Center Orchestra side, it is the chorus of the baritone saxophonist and bass clarinet player Paul Nedzela that leaves the hall speechless.

To be noticed, the exceptional acoustics. Hats off to the sound engineers who did a remarkable job.

After this first piece, it’s a festival of improvisations around the theme “Blood in the Fields” by Marsalis‘ band under the attentive eyes of all the musicians of the Moscow Jazz Orchestra.

Then the pieces follow one another, interpreted alternately by the two Big Bands, who thus answer each other. “Here is She Young Beauty” on one side, “Concerto For Joe” on the other.

At each change, it is interesting to note that the musicians who are not playing turn their gaze or sometimes even their bodies in the direction of the other orchestra, most often wearing a broad smile, accompanying the choruses with an approving or admiring nod, as connoisseurs.

It is as if two sports teams were watching the other team play, dribbling, throwing the ball back and forth and applauding the performance.

The first set ends with a splendid “Baby I Love You” (Music by Wynton Marsalis, lyrics by Bobby McFerrin, arrangement by Nikolai Levinovsky) – Oleg Akkuratov, Igor Butman and the Moscow Jazz Orchestra

During the intermission, you can climb all the floors of this gigantic building and admire the Kremlin at night through the large windows… A show within a show.

©Photo Couleurs Jazz

The second set begins with this deep “Work Song“, with music by Nikolai Levinovsky) – Igor Butman and the Moscow Jazz Orchestra, Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis where the orchestras respond to each other again.

Several pop and rock stars, crooners and singers are invited to participate in Igor Butman‘s birthday party, among them Fantine, to whom we gave the name “Black Russian” born of a Puerto Rican mother in Moscow, Sergey Mazaev and Valeri Syutkin, rock stars very well known to the Muscovite public, judging by the smartphones that get up to capture some pictures.

Also noteworthy is the spectacular intervention of Oleg Akkuratov, the formidable and inspired pianist of the Moscow Jazz Orchestra, who has a voice and as much talent for singing as for his keyboard.

He suddenly intones a “Baby I Love You” that quickly turns into “Happy Birthday Igor!” It sounds like a Happy Birthday but it is in fact a Wynton Marsalis composition that he takes up on trumpet and the whole thing goes into a joyful improvisation between friends!

On this occasion, Igor’s brother Oleg Butman joined them on drums.

Then there are Drum Battles, Sax Battles, Trombone and Trumpet Battles between the two bands.

The only winner is Jazz!

An exceptional XXL concert in a rare place.

Congratulations to the musicians of both teams, to the technicians, to our guides Anna and Arlette.

After such an experience, one comes to dream of a better world where all the armies of the world would be replaced by Big Bands of Jazz…

Moscow Jazz Orchestra Line Up:

Igor Butman, tenor, alto and soprano saxophones

Daniil Nikitin, tenor saxophone

Anton Chekurov, alto saxophone

Ilya Morozov, alto saxophone

Aleksandr Dovgopolyi, baryton saxophone

Pavel Ovchinnikov, trombone

Sergei Dolzhenkov, trombone

Oleg Borodin, trombone

Nikolai Shevnin, bass trombone

Aleksandr Berenson, trumpet

Pavel Zhulin, trumpet

Ivan Akatov, trumpet

Dmitry Zinakov, trumpet

Evgeny Pobozhiy, guitar

Artem Baskakov, double bass

Eduard Zizak, drums

Oleg Akkuratov, piano, voice

Evgenii Potsikaylik, soundman

Personnel du Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra.

Wynton Marsalis, Music Director, Trumpet

Ryan Kisor, Trumpet

Kenny Rampton, Trumpet

Marcus Printup, Trumpet

Chris Crenshaw, Trombone

Vincent Gardner, Trombone

Elliot Mason, Trombone

Walter Blanding, Tenor and Soprano Saxophones, Clarinet

Sherman Irby, Alto and Soprano Saxophones, Flute, Clarinet

Alexa Tarantino, Alto and Soprano Saxophones, Flute, Clarinet

Victor Goines, Tenor and Soprano Saxophones, Clarinet, Bass Clarinet

Paul Nedzela, Baritone and Soprano Saxophones, Bass Clarinet

Dan Nimmer, Piano

Carlos Henriquez, Bass

Obed Calvaire, drums

©Photo Couleurs Jazz

(*) In comparison, the Grand Auditorium of the Palais des Congrès in Paris has 3700 seats…

Unless otherwise noted, all ©photos are the work of the pool of official accredited photographers whom we thank here.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest