Hit Couleurs JAZZ

Le répertoire de cet album et son intitulé révèlent l’idée qui en a guidé la conception.

On y trouve des titres illustrés par des chanteuses qui ont inspiré Kandace Springs en lui permettant de construire pas à pas sa personnalité artistique. Dans la liste figurent Ella Fitzgerald, Billie Holiday, Carmen McRae, Diana Krall, Bonnie Raitt, Nina Simone, Roberta Flack, Dusty Springfield, Lauryn Hill, Sade, Astrud Gilberto et Norah Jones avec qui elle partage Angel Eyes, la composition de Matt Denis très appréciée d’ Ella Fitzgerald.

Toutes se sont brillamment illustrées dans des univers musicaux variés dont Kandace Springs a su tirer le meilleur parti en manifestant un éclectisme de bon aloi.

Ceci nous vaut des versions de Killing Me Softly, Angel Eyes, I Put A Spell On You, Strange Fruit vécues de l’intérieur et habitées par un chant dépouillé exempt de tout artifice.

Vocaliste et pianiste accomplie, Kandace Springs ne copie pas ses illustres devancières, elle s’en inspire pour livrer des interprétations élaborées avec soin portant la marque d’un talent qui ne doit qu’à ses qualités propres.

Si elle s’appuie sur un répertoire capable par sa variété de séduire le public le plus large, elle le fait avec une sincérité et une probité artistique que l’on ne peut ici mettre en doute. À elle de maintenir ce cap prometteur de belles réussites artistiques en restant dans le chemin du jazz qui lui convient si bien.

Interprètes :

Kandace Springs (voix, piano, Fender Rhodes),

Steve Cardenas (guitare),

Scott Colley (basse),

Clarence Penn (batterie)

+ invités :

Norah Jones (voix),

Elena Pinderhughes (flûte),

Christian McBride (contrebasse),

Avishai Cohen (trompette),

David Sanborn (saxophone alto),

Chris Potter (ts).

© Photos Hadidja Mahamoud

 

The Women Who Raised Me est un album Blue Note

 

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest

Hit Couleurs JAZZ

The repertoire of this album and its title reveal the idea that guided its conception.

Here are titles illustrated by singers who inspired Kandace Springs by allowing her to build step by step her artistic personality. In the list are Ella Fitzgerald, Billie Holiday, Carmen McRae, Diana Krall, Bonnie Raitt, Nina Simone, Roberta Flack, Dusty Springfield, Lauryn Hill, Sade, Astrud Gilberto and Norah Jones with whom she shares Angel Eyes, the composition of Matt Denis much appreciated by Ella Fitzgerald.

All of them are brilliantly illustrated in various musical universes of which Kandace Springs has known how to make the most of it by demonstrating a good eclecticism.

This brings us versions of Killing Me Softly, Angel Eyes, I Put A Spell On You, Strange Fruit lived from within and inhabited by a stripped song free of all artifice.

An accomplished vocalist and pianist, Kandace Springs does not copy his illustrious predecessors, but draws inspiration from them to deliver carefully crafted interpretations bearing the mark of a talent that owes nothing but his own qualities.

If it is based on a repertoire capable by its variety of seducing the widest audience, it does so with sincerity and artistic probity that cannot be doubted here. It is up to her to maintain this promising course of great artistic success by staying on the path of jazz that suits her so well.

Line Up :

Kandace Springs (vocals, piano, Fender Rhodes),

Steve Cardenas (guitar),

Scott Colley (bass),

Clarence Penn (drums)

+ invités :

Norah Jones (vocals),

Elena Pinderhughes (flute),

Christian McBride (doublebass),

Avishai Cohen (trumpet),

David Sanborn (alto saxophone ),

Chris Potter (clarinet).

© Photos Hadidja Mahamoud

 

The Women Who Raised Me est un album Blue Note

 

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest