Skip to main content

Balkan Jazz Connections est la devise du JAM (Jazz Association Month) quinzième édition annuelle de la plus importante manifestation Jazz au Monténégro. Elle se déroulait cette année du 1er au 30 avril.

Guidés par l’expérience positive du Balkan Youth Jazz Orchestra en 2021, l’idée de cette édition 2022 (post Covid ?!) était de mettre sur le devant de la scène, quelques-uns des talents émergents du jazz dans les Balkans.

L’instigatrice de ce projet est Maya Popovic, présidente de l’association « Jazz Art » 

Pour la première fois au Monténégro, se sont produits en concert :

  • le quatuor vocal MING de Belgrade, avec la pianiste et compositrice Nevena Pejcic à sa tête ;
  • Le quartet de saxophonistes expérimentés originaires de Subotica, dans le Voîvodine Serbe : Super Sax 4 avec Jasna Jovicevic, Adam Klem, Gabor Bunford et Maks Kocetov. Compositions et arrangements originaux pour 4tet de saxophones.
  • de Skopje, le Gordan Spasovski Trio qui a pu présenter son premier album, remarqué par la critique « Light Pillar » ;
  • Le jeune groupe local, de Podgorica, Kuhinjazz, qui a proposé pour la première fois son album (à la recherche d’éditeurs et de distributeurs en Europe). Avec Enes Tahirović, aux claviers, Stefan Pavicevic, saxophone, Dejan Ljujic, trombone, Luna Kostadinović , violon, Martin Djordjevic à la batterie et Slaven Ljujic, à la basse, compositeur et leader du groupe.
  • l’ensemble venu du Bosphore, le trio de Baturai Yarkin, avec Nagme Yarkin, chanteuse et joueuse de Kamânche ou kamancheh, une famille d’instruments à cordes frottées d’origine iranienne répandue au Moyen Orient, en Turquie ou dans les Balkans.
  • l’orchestre du Grand Ensemble Mimika, 18 musiciens, formé à Londres et originaires de Zagreb, avec à sa tête le multi-instrumentiste et compositeur Mak Murtic;

Durant le Festival de Podgorica, deux films ayant pour thème le jazz ont été présentés :

  • un documentaire de 2006 sur Herbie Hancock intitulé « Herbie Hancock : Possibilities« , réalisé par Doug Biro et Jon Fine.
  • Le film de fiction « Django« , le long métrage français de 2017, réalisé par Etienne Comar et inspiré de Django Reinhardt.

Dans le cadre des échanges « France Jazz Balkans » initié par le ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères qu’il faut remercier pour son soutien financier, ainsi que les Villes de Dijon et de Chambéry, instigateurs des rencontres et des échanges entre les différents acteurs du projet Jazz France Balkans, Couleurs Jazz était ainsi présent pour rendre compte aux différents partenaires de ce projet et à un large public, de cet événement.

La dernière semaine du « JAM Festival du Montenegro », à laquelle nous avons pu assister avait au programme, du 26 au 30 avril 2022, en plus des films présentés, trois groupes et quatre concerts.

Mardi 24 avril – Kuhinjazz, Parc Njegosev, Podgorica

Le sextet du compositeur, batteur et bassiste, Slaven Ljujic, qui proposait pour la première fois son nouveau projet.

Décision fut prise d’installer  les musiciens sous un joli kiosque du Parc Njegosev, récemment remis à neuf, sur les bords du fleuve Moraća.

Un public mélangé de familles, de jeunes intrigués et de mélomanes avertis, constitué il nous semble pour moitié de passants, pour moitié de festivaliers. Tous les concerts sont gratuits pour le public et financés par l’association organisatrice avec le soutien de la Mairie de Podgorica et des différents partenaires comme l’Institut Français.

Des conditions de sons compliquées pour les musiciens installés en demi-cercle sous ce kiosque, mais un rendu d’excellente qualité pour les promeneurs du parc Njegosev, comme pour le public qui s’amassa tout autour durant le concert.

Pour ce qui est de la musique proposée par Kuhinjazz, groupe émergent,  il s’agit d’un jazz fusion, tonique avec des couleurs propres à la culture du Montenegro. L’accent est mis sur le groove et la pulse du leader Slaven Ljujic avec des lignes de basses colorée et inventives, assisté avec la précision du métronome, par le batteur Martin DJorjdjevic.

Le claviériste Enes Pavicevic déborde d’énergie et d’inventivité dans ses dialogues avec Dejan Ljujic, frère du leader, aussi talentueux au trombone très jazz qu’à la guitare plus rock.

Au saxophone, Stefan Pavicevic, envoie de magnifiques traits sous les arbres du parc de cette douce nuit d’avril. Il nous réjouira enfin d’un magnifique chorus improvisé avec une petite flute locale, toute basique, mais d’une efficacité… !

Dommage que le son de la violoniste Luna Kostadinović soit trop couvert par les autres instruments. Ceci sera corrigé le lendemain, lors du second concert du même groupe.

Un jazz fusion dans l’air du temps, dans l’air des balkans.

Les musiciens :

Enes Tahirović, claviers,

Stefan Pavicevic, saxophone,

Dejan Ljujic, trombone et guitare,

Luna Kostadinović, violon,

Slaven Ljujic, compositions et basse électrique et

Martin Djordjevic, batterie.

Mercredi 25 avril – Kuhinjazz, au Zetski Dom de Cetinje

Le Kuhinjazz, textuellement le « jazz de cuisine » sert un jazz épicé et cuisiné aux saveurs du Monténégro principalement mais aussi de l’Afrique, mère de tous les jazz. Un jazz bien préparé avec une écriture fluide, laissant l’opportunité à de belles évolutions, à des chorus inspirés, chacun apportant ses ingrédients, à savoir son talent. Comme dans toute bonne cuisine il n’en reste pas moins qu’il faut un chef au piano (de la cuisine) ou à la batterie de cuisine également, ou encore ici à la basse.

Arrivés au moment des balances, nous en profitons pour faire un tour dans Cetinje, la capitale historique du Monténégro qui a gardé quelques fonctions, la plupart des administrations gérant le pays étant plutôt basées  à Podgorica. Cetinje, cité perchée dans la montagne a des allure de ville de province, calme et tranquille. La manifestation en faveur de l’Ukraine emmenée par un cortège d’une quarantaine de personnes que nous croisons, ne semble pas troubler des habitants assis aux terrasses des cafés.

En passant par-là, ne manquez pas d’admirer l’ancienne ambassade de France, un bâtiment à l’architecture étrange. Il parait qu’il fut construit de cette manière un peu baroque, car les plans qui furent envoyés-là étaient destinés en fait à la construction de l’ambassade de France au Caire… Nous nous réjouissons là de cette erreur.

Le Zetski Dom, Théâtre Royal qui fait partie de la « Route Européenne des Théâtres historiques » en particulier des pays de l’Adriatique et qui accueille le concert du soir nous accueille. Ce théâtre fut construit après que le pays ait pu se libérer de l’empire Ottoman, en 1878. Il servait aussi de bibliothèque, de centre culturel, de musée…. Restauré, le Zetski Dom accueille aujourd’hui représentations théâtrales et concerts. Il y règne une atmosphère apaisante, propre aux lieux de culture qui sont chargés d’Histoire.

La scène y est profonde, les sièges de velours gris, confortables. L’acoustique propice, a permis une toute autre vision, ou plutôt, une nouvelle appréciation du concert de la veille. Saluons ici les ingénieurs du son qui ont fait pour tous les concerts un travail remarquable.

Ce soir, nous pûmes apprécier les coups d’archets des phrasés subtiles de Luna Kostadinović au violon ainsi que de tous les musiciens très en verve.

Certaines pièces écoutées la veille étaient fort attendues, en particulier celles qui offraient un groove africain. La reprise de « Butterfly » d’Herbie Hancock est une nouvelle appropriation au goût exquis. Comme un bon plat traditionnel revisité. servi là pour le dessert.

Une succulente Kujinjazz !

Vendredi 29 avril – Le Baturay Yarkin Trio & Nagme Yarkin au Théâtre Kic Budo Tomovicde de Podgorica.

Le quartet venu du Bosphore, constitué du  trio du pianiste Baturai Yarkin, avec Nagme Yarkin, chanteuse et joueuse de Kamânche ou kamancheh, une famille d’instruments à cordes frottées d’origine iranienne répandue au Moyen Orient, en Turquie ou dans les Balkans nous propose un répertoire jazz aux couleurs orientales qui vont de l’Anatolie à l’Azerbaïdjan.

Une rythmique solide assurée par le contrebassiste Enver Muhamedi et le batteur Mert Can Bilgin. Virtuosité des musiciens et en particulier du pianiste Baturai Yarkin, dont le jeu n’est pas sans rappeler des pianistes azeris comme Shahin Novrasli ou Isfar Sarabski.

De longues vocalises de Nagme Yarkin. Les morceaux se ressemblent un peu en terme de rythmiques. Notre préférence va pour les mélodies que cette artiste incroyable tire de son instrument, le Kamânche, qui offre certainement une étendue moins large que le violon mais qui possède un son particulier, plus grave, plus suave. On aurait aimé davantage de chorus improvisés comme sur le premier morceau.

Nous restons sous le charme de cette soirée de concert de deux heures pleines.

Le public du Théâtre Kic Budo Tomovicde de Podgorica, leur réservera une standing ovation méritée.

Samedi 30 avril – Le Mimika Orchestra sur la scène de plein air Ljetnja de Podgorica

Un théâtre de verdure et de pierres en hauteur, au confluent de la rivière Ribnica qui se jette dans le fleuve Moraća en pleine ville. Quel bel endroit !

Quelques rangées de gradins  en demi-cercle, une scène assez large pour accueillir les 18 musiciens croates de cette formation originale, déjà par sa configuration, mais surtout par ses créations musicales originales inspirées des Big band jazz américains et de la riche culture musicale des Balkans.  Ça groove, ça pète, ça vrombit ! Les chorus des musiciens, tous de très haut niveau, nous emportent dans une spirale dont nous redescendons secoués et enchantés un peu comme quand on monte dans des engins de fêtes foraines qui vous envoient en l’air et vous bousculent les sens pour plus d’enthousiasme encore.

Des solos au saxophone, au tuba, à la flûte à couper le souffle, une rythmique impeccable d’efficacité : percussion, batterie, basse et guitare électriques. Des soufflants, saxophones, trompettes, flûtes, trombones jusqu’au hautbois et finalement deux chanteuses comme des déesses antiques qui rugissent, dansent et scandent les mélodies avec une énergie soutenue.

Dans cette ambiance survoltée, les arrangements sont ciselés à l’or fin, les vibrations rythmiques sont pointues et les énergies telluriques.

Cela ne ressemble à rien de connu.

Le Mimika Orchestra peut être considéré comme l’un des orchestres les plus créatifs sur la scène jazz européenne. Il embarque le public dans un voyage plein d’aventures là où le jazz entre en collision avec d’autres genres musicaux et formes d’art, racontant des histoires anthropologiques, culturelles et mythologiques du passé et du futur.

Tout ce monde merveilleux est conduit de main de maître ou plutôt par la gestuelle de tout le corps, du compositeur, Mak Murtić.

Bref, il faut écouter cet opéra Jazz rock balkanique à la sauce piquante !

Personnel :

Maja Rivic – voix

Dunja Bahtijarevic – voix

Nika Bauman – flûte

Jelena Ilcic – hautbois

Leo Beslac – flûte et claviers

Marko Lucijan Hrascanec – saxophones alto & soprano

Anton Prettler – sax tenor

Marko Gudelj – sax baryton

Zvonimir Bajevic – trompette

Valdemar Kusan – trompette

Vid Zgajner – trombone

Ivan Mucic – trombone

Jurica Rukljic – tuba

Josip Sustic – Guitare électrique

Viktor Slamnig – basse

Nenad Kovacic – percussion

Mario Petrinjak – batterie

Mak Murtic – compositions & direction

Et quel joli cadeau pour fêter ce 30 avril, International Jazz Day, reconnu par l’Unesco.

Merci encore à Maya Popovic, la directrice du JAM Festival, ainsi qu’à toute son équipe, à la ville de Podgorica, à l’Institut Français du Montenegro et l’ensemble des partenaires qui rendent ces projets possibles. 

Un hommage également aux Villes de Dijon et de Chambéry, ainsi qu’au Ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires Étrangères pour son soutien financier au projet « Jazz France Balkans » qui ont permis ce reportage et la diffusion de ce jazz des Balkans.

©Photos Gaby Sanchez & Jacques Pauper pour Couleurs Jazz

Laisser un commentaire

Pin It on Pinterest

Skip to main content

Balkan Jazz Connections is the motto of JAM (Jazz Association Month), the fifteenth annual edition of the most important jazz event in Montenegro. This year it took place from April 1 to 30.

Guided by the positive experience of the Balkan Youth Jazz Orchestra in 2021, the idea of this 2022 edition (post Covid?!) was to bring to the forefront some of the emerging jazz talents of the Balkans.

The instigator of this project is Maja Popovic, president of the  « Jazz Art »association.

For the first time in Montenegro, performed in concert :

  • The vocal quartet MING from Belgrade, with the pianist and composer Nevena Pejcic as the leader;
  • The quartet of experienced saxophonists from Subotica, in Serbian Vojvodina: Super Sax 4 with Jasna Jovicevic, Adam Klem, Gabor Bunford and Maks Kocetov. Original compositions and arrangements for saxophone 4tet.
  • From Skopje, the Gordan Spasovski Trio who was able to present “Light Pillar” its first album, noticed by the critics;
  • The young local band, from Podgorica, Kuhinjazz, who offered for the first time their album (looking for publishers and distributors in Europe). With Enes Tahirović, keyboards, Stefan Pavicevic, saxophone, Dejan Ljujic, trombone and guitar, Luna Kostadinović , violin, Martin Djordjevic on drums and Slaven Ljujic, bass, composer and band leader;
  • The band who came from  Bosphorus, Baturai Yarkin’s trio, with Nagme Yarkin, singer and player of Kamânche ou kamancheh, a family of bowed string instruments of Iranian origin, widespread in the Middle East, Turkey and the Balkans.
  • The Big Band Orchestra Mimika, 18 musicians, formed in London and originally from Zagreb, led by multi-instrumentalist and composer Mak Murtic;

During Podgorica festival, two movies with a jazz theme were shown:

  • A 2006 documentary about Herbie Hancock entitled “Herbie Hancock : Possibilities“, directed by Doug Biro et Jon Fine.
  • The 2017 French feature film “Django“, directed by Etienne Comar and inspired by Django Reinhardt.

Within the framework of the exchanges “France Jazz Balkans” initiated by the Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs from France, which must be thanked for its financial support, as well as the cities of Dijon and Chambéry, instigators of the meetings and exchanges between the various actors of the project Jazz France Balkans, Couleurs Jazz was thus present to give an account of this event to the various partners of this project and to a large public.

The last week of the “JAM Festival of Montenegro”, which we were able to attend, had on the program, from 26 to 30 April 2022, in addition to the films presented, three groups and four concerts.

Tuesday April 26 – Kuhinjazz, Parc Njegosev, Podgorica

The sextet of the composer, drummer and bassist, Slaven Ljujic, who offered his new project for the first time.

The decision was made to install the musicians under a nice gazebo in the recently refurbished Njegosev Park on the banks of the Moraća River.

A mixed audience of families, intrigued young people and informed music lovers, made up it seems for half of passers-by, for half of festival-goers. All the concerts are free for the public and financed by the organizing association with the support of the City of Podgorica and various partners like the French Institute.

Complicated sound conditions for the musicians installed in a semicircle under this kiosk, but a rendering of excellent quality for the walkers of the park Njegosev, as for the public which amassed all around during the concert.

As for the music proposed by Kuhinjazz, an emerging group, it is a jazz fusion, tonic with colors specific to the culture of Montenegro. The emphasis is on the groove and pulse of the leader Slaven Ljujic with colorful and inventive bass lines, assisted with the precision of the metronome, by the drummer Martin DJorjdjevic.

Keyboardist Enes Pavicevic is full of energy and inventiveness in his dialogues with Dejan Ljujic, the leader’s brother, who is as talented on jazz trombone as he is on rock guitar.

On the saxophone, Stefan Pavicevic, sends magnificent lines under the trees of the park of this soft night of April. He will finally delight us with a magnificent chorus improvised with a small local flute, very basic, but of an effectiveness… !

Too bad that the sound of the violinist Luna Kostadinović is too much covered by the other instruments. This will be corrected the next day, during the second concert of the same group.

A jazz fusion in the air of time, in the air of the Balkans.

Line Up:

Enes Tahirović, keybords,

Stefan Pavicevic, saxophone,

Dejan Ljujic, trombone and guitar,

Luna Kostadinović, violon,

Slaven Ljujic, compositions and electric bass

Martin Djordjevic, drums.

Wednesday April 25 – Kuhinjazz, at the Cetinje Zetski Dom

The Kuhinjazz, literally “kitchen jazz” serves a spicy jazz cooked with the flavors of Montenegro mainly but also of Africa, mother of all jazz. A well prepared jazz with a fluid writing, leaving the opportunity to beautiful evolutions, to inspired choruses, each one bringing its ingredients, namely its talent. As in any good kitchen it does not remain about it less than one needs a chief with the piano (of the kitchen) or with the battery(*) of kitchen also, or still here with the bass. 

(*) translation indications:  a batterie in french is a drums set and a set of kitchen utensils while a piano can also be a stove…

Arrived at the time of the sound check, we take advantage of it to make a tour in Cetinje, the historical capital of Montenegro which kept some functions, the majority of the administrations managing the country being rather based in Podgorica. Cetinje, a city perched in the mountains, looks like a provincial town, calm and quiet. The demonstration in favor of Ukraine led by a procession of about forty people that we cross, does not seem to disturb the inhabitants sitting at the terraces of cafes.

While passing by, don’t miss to admire the old French embassy, a building with a strange architecture. It is said that it was built in this baroque way, because the plans that were sent there were in fact intended for the construction of the French embassy in Cairo… This mistake makes us happy.

The Zetski Dom, Royal Theatre which is part of the “European Route of Historical Theaters” especially from the Adriatic countries and which hosts the evening concert welcomes us. This theater was built after the country was able to free itself from the Ottoman Empire, in 1878. It was also used as a library, a cultural center and a museum…. Restored, the Zetski Dom now hosts theatrical performances and concerts. It reigns there a calming atmosphere, proper to the places of culture which are charged with History.

The stage is deep, the grey velvet seats are comfortable. The acoustics were favourable, allowing a completely different vision, or rather, a new appreciation of the previous day’s concert. Let’s salute the sound engineers who did a remarkable job for all the concerts.

Tonight, we could appreciate the subtle phrasing of Luna Kostadinović on the violin as well as all the musicians who were in great spirits.

Some of the pieces heard the day before were highly anticipated, especially those with an African groove. The cover of “Butterfly” by Herbie Hancock is a new appropriation with an exquisite taste. Like a good traditional dish revisited. served there for dessert.

A succulent Kujinjazz!

Friday April 29  – Baturay Yarkin Trio & Nagme Yarkin at Podgorica Kic Budo’s Theatre of Tomovicde.

The quartet from the Bosphorus, made up of the trio of pianist Baturai Yarkin, with Nagme Yarkin, singer and player of Kamânche or kamancheh, a family of stringed instruments of Iranian origin widespread in the Middle East, Turkey and the Balkans, offers us a jazz repertoire with oriental colors ranging from Anatolia to Azerbaijan

A solid rhythmic provided by the double bass player Enver Muhamedi and the drummer Mert Can Bilgin. Virtuosity of the musicians and in particular of the pianist Baturai Yarkin, whose play is not without reminding of Azeri pianists like Shahin Novrasli or Isfar Sarabski.

Long vocalizations of Nagme Yarkin. The pieces are a bit similar in terms of rhythm. Our preference goes to the melodies that this incredible artist draws from her instrument, the Kamânche, which certainly offers a less wide range than the violin but which has a particular sound, lower, more suave. We would have liked more improvised choruses like on the first piece.

We remain under the spell of this two-hour long concert.

The audience of the Kic Budo Tomovicde Theater in Podgorica, will give them a well-deserved standing ovation.

Line up:

Nagme Yarkin, Kamânche and vocals

Baturai Yarkin, piano

Enver Muhamedi, double bass

Mert Can Bilgin, drums

Saturday April 30 – Mimika Orchestra on the open air stage of Ljetnja in Podgorica.

A theater of greenery and stones on high ground, at the confluence of the Ribnica River which flows into the Moraća River in the middle of the city. What a beautiful place!

A few rows of seats in a semi-circle, a stage wide enough to welcome the 18 Croatian musicians of this original band, already by its configuration, but especially by its original musical creations inspired by the American jazz Big band and the rich musical culture of the Balkans.  It grooves, it fizzes, it hums! The choruses of the musicians, all of very high level, carry us away in a spiral from which we come down shaken and enchanted a little like when we go up in fairground machines which send you in the air and jostle your senses for more enthusiasm.

Breathtaking solos on saxophone, tuba and flute, an impeccably efficient rhythm section: percussion, drums, bass and electric guitar. Blowers, saxophones, trumpets, flutes, trombones up to the oboe and finally two singers like ancient goddesses who roar, dance and chant the melodies with a sustained energy.

In this overexcited atmosphere, the arrangements are chiseled with fine gold, the rhythmic vibrations are sharp and the energies telluric.

This is unlike anything you’ve ever heard.

The Mimika Orchestra can be considered as one of the most creative orchestras on the European jazz scene. It takes the audience on an adventurous journey where jazz collides with other musical genres and art forms, telling anthropological, cultural and mythological stories from the past and the future.

All this wonderful world is led by the masterful hand, or rather by the full-body gestures, of the composer, Mak Murtić.

In short, you must listen to this Balkan jazz rock opera with a spicy sauce!

Line Up:

Maja Rivic – voice

Dunja Bahtijarevic – voice

Nika Bauman – flute

Jelena Ilcic – oboe

Leo Beslac – flute and keyboards

Marko Lucijan Hrascanec – alto & soprano saxophones 

Anton Prettler – sax tenor

Marko Gudelj – sax baryton

Zvonimir Bajevic – trumpet

Valdemar Kusan – trumpet

Vid Zgajner – trombone

Ivan Mucic – trombone

Jurica Rukljic – tuba

Josip Sustic – electric uitar 

Viktor Slamnig – bass

Nenad Kovacic – percussion

Mario Petrinjak – drums

Mak Murtic – compositions & direction

And what a great present to celebrate April 30, International Jazz Day, recognised by Unesco!

Thanks again to Maya Popovic, manager of this JAM Festival, as well as her team, the city of Podgorica, the French Institute of Montenegro and all the partners who make these projects possible.

A tribute also to the cities of Dijon and Chambéry, as well as to the Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs for its financial support to the project “Jazz France Balkans” which allowed this report and the diffusion of this amazing Balkan jazz.

©Photos Gaby Sanchez pour Couleurs Jazz

Translated from french with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest