Voici le premier disque de la chanteuse Angela Verbrugge qui nous vient de Vancouver (Canada).

S’y révèle une artiste prolongeant avec talent et authenticité l’art des grandes vocalistes de jazz des années 40 et 50 dans la mesure où elle puise avec discernement dans l’American Songbook la base de son répertoire, ici enrichi de quatre compositions personnelles et de titres comme Si Tu Pudieras Quererme (You and The Night and The Music) du compositeur cubain Arturo Negro (Arthur Schwarz) et Plus je t’embrasse, chantés respectivement en espagnol et en français.

Servie par une voix au timbre séduisant, Angela Verbrugge sait mettre en valeur les paroles d’un standard, une pratique qui lui vient peut être de sa pratique du théâtre. Elle sait aussi exploiter les ressources d’une mélodie en la parant, par exemple, d’une touche latine fort bien venue (The Night We Couldn’t Say Good Night, Love Walked In).

Un phrasé naturel et une diction précise donnent à sa voix une qualité instrumentale perceptible dans I’m Running Late, la composition de Ray Gallon dont elle a écrit les paroles. Ses interprétations portent la marque d’une approche originale mûrement réfléchie comme le montrent, le traitement inventif de A Night In Tunisia, la manière dont elle s’approprie All Too Soon et le panache de This Could Be the Start of Something Big.

La complicité musicale qui l’unit à son trio constitué de musiciens de grande classe – y figurent Ray Gallon au piano, Cameron Brown, à la contrebasse et Anthony Pinciotti à la batterie – est un bel exemple de symbiose musicale. Nous attendons la suite avec impatience.

Album enregistré les 2 et 3 août 2017 à New York.

Interprètes :

Ray Gallon, piano,

Cameron Brown, contrebasse

Anthony Pinciotti, batterie

 

©Photo Karolina Turek

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest

The Vancouver-based Canadian singer Angela Verbrugge publishes her first record.

We discover an artist who brings us with a lot of talent and authenticity back the era of those great jazz vocalists of the 40s and 50s. She bases her repertoire with discernment on the American Songbook and enriches it with four of her own compositions and songs like Si Tu Pudieras Quererme (You and The Night and The Music) of Cuban composer Arturo Negro (Arthur Schwarz) and Plus je t’embrasse, respectively sung in Spanish and French.

With a seducing tone of voice, Angela Verbrugge knows how to highlight the lyrics of a standard. Her practice in theater must certainly be helpful for that. She plays with ease with melodies and makes them her own, for example by adorning them with a Pleasant Latin touch (The Night We Couldn’t Say Good Night, Love Walked In).

A natural phrasing and a precise diction embellish her voice with an instrumental trait that becomes especially noticeable in I’m Running Late, a composition by Ray Gallon for which she wrote the lyrics. Every interpretation shows her deeply reflected originality and creativity: An inventive interpretation of A Night In Tunisia, the way she makes All Too Soon her own and the flair that she adds to This Could Be the Start of Something Big.

The musical complicity that unites her with her trio constituted of high-class musicians – Ray Gallon on the piano, Cameron Brown on the double bass and Anthony Pinciotti on the drums – is a great example of musical symbiosis. We are looking impatiently forward to hear more from Angela Verbrugge. 

The album was recorded on 2nd and 3rd August 2017 in New York.

Line-Up:

Angela Verbrugge, voice

Ray Gallon, piano,

Cameron Brown, double bass

Anthony Pinciotti, drums

 

©Photo Karolina Turek

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest