Skip to main content
Hit Couleurs JAZZ

Jacky Terrasson opens this new opus, the first on his new label Earth Sound, with an unusually slow, sumptuous Besame Mucho.

It’s an album in which he varies the contexts as much as possible: two different trios, one American, the other French, guests such as singers Camille Bertault and Kareen Guiock-Thuram or harmonicist Grégoire Maret, not to mention that on a few themes he changes drummer, inviting Eric Harland or Billy Hart.

The result is a varied program featuring standards as diverse as Misty, Solar, I Will Wait for You and My Baby Just Cares for Me, as well as personal compositions that express, through a supple, swaying swing, the joy of playing and bringing happiness to the listener.

This album may be criticized for its lack of stylistic unity, but it reflects Jacky Terrasson‘s personality: an inquisitive, open-minded musician who never ceases to renew himself, and who puts his tonic, refined touch and voluble phrasing at the service of music which, under his fingers, has a timeless freshness.

While most of the themes are performed in trio, at fast (the dizzying AF 006), medium (such as the very danceable R & B) or slow tempos, those featuring Grégoire Maret are particularly noteworthy, as the harmonica player’s mellow sound and art of improvisation blend perfectly with the pianist’s playing.

As for the two tracks with female singers, they confirm the talent of the pianist as accompanist, a talent he once demonstrated in a recording with Cassandra Wilson, and which confirms his taste for the voice, since his playing itself possesses vocal qualities.

Line Up:

Jacky Terrasson: piano, keyboards

Sylvain Romano: double bass

Lukmil Perez: drums

Kenny Davis: double bass, electric bass

Alvester Garnett: drums

Eric Harland: drums

Billy Hart: drums

Grégoire Maret: harmonica

Camille Bertault: vocals

Kareen Guiock-Thuram: vocals

Moving On is a “Hit Couleurs Jazz” and selected in “The Best of the Month“. was was released on April 19, 2024 on Jacky Terrasson’s new label : Earth Sounds.

©Photo Header Alexandre Lacombe

Leave a Reply