Hit Couleurs JAZZ

Ces enregistrements inédits de décembre 1969 proviennent du séjour de Bill Evans au célèbre Ronnie Scott’s de Londres. Pour l’occasion, le pianiste est entouré du bassiste Eddie Gomez et du batteur Marty Morell qui l’accompagneront jusqu’en 1974.

Ils mettent donc fin à une période particulièrement active du trio qui se produisit cette année au Village Vanguard de New York mais aussi dans une série de tournées qui le mèneront en Hollande, Italie, Danemark et, pour finir, en Angleterre.

Tout ceci est expliqué en détail dans un copieux livret de 33 pages qui propose des photos rares de Jan Person et de Jean-Pierre Leloir, un essai de Marc Myers et un texte de Léon Terjanian sur l’origine de ces bandes parvenues jusqu’à nous, grâce à la sagacité du producteur Zev Feldman. Ajoutons que le plus grand soin a été apporté au transfert des cassettes audio vers les Cds.

On entend là un Bill Evans décontracté et inventif qui improvise avec aisance sur de nouveaux morceaux et des classiques de son répertoire (‘Round Midnight, Waltz for Debby et Sugar Plumau swing implacable).

Eddie Gomez joue remarquablement bien et il est passionnant d’entendre Marty Morell, encore sous l’influence de Paul Motian, chercher sa place au sein du trio.

Il la trouve d’ailleurs dans Stella by Starlight.

Indispensable aux fans de Bill Evans, ce double album est donc du plus haut intérêt.

 

1 double CD. Resonance Records / Bertus

 

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest

Couleurs JAZZ HITSIn the racksNews

BILL EVANS – EVANS IN ENGLAND

By 14 August 2019 No Comments
Hit Couleurs JAZZ

These unpublished recordings of December 1969 come from Bill Evans’ stay at the famous Ronnie Scott’s in London. For the occasion, the pianist is surrounded by bassist Eddie Gomez and drummer Marty Morell who will accompany him until 1974.

They put an end to a particularly active period of the trio that occurred this year at the Village Vanguard of New York but also in a series of tours that will take him to Holland, Italy, Denmark and finally to England.

All this is explained in detail in a copious 33-pages booklet featuring rare photos of Jan Person and Jean-Pierre Leloir, an essay by Marc Myers, and a text by Léon Terjanian on the origin of these tapes reaching us, thanks to the sagacity of the producer Zev Feldman. Let us add that the greatest care has been taken in the transfer of audio tapes to CDs.

Here we hear a casual and inventive Bill Evans who improvises with ease on new tracks and classics from his repertoire (Round Midnight, Waltz for Debby and Sugar Plum with an implacable swing).

Eddie Gomez plays remarkably well and it is exciting to hear Marty Morell, still under the influence of Paul Motian, seeking his place within the trio.

He finds it elsewhere in Stella by Starlight.

Indispensable to Bill Evans fans, this double album is therefore of the highest interest.

1 double CD. Resonance Records / Bertus

 

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest