Skip to main content
Hit Couleurs JAZZ

Emile Parisien maîtrise musicalement et avec talent l’art du « en même temps » ! Son dernier album à la tête d’un all star américano-européen en est la confirmation.

Le saxophoniste soprano et compositeur, associé à quelques-uns des meilleurs représentants de la fine fleur actuelle du jazz « made in USA » – Theo Croker (trompette), Joe Martin (contrebasse) et Nasheet Waits (batterie) – et européens – Roberto Negro (piano) et Manu Codjia (guitare) – propose dans Louise (ACT Music), une nouvelle approche de ses aspirations et inspirations.

Si l’on excepte Madagascar, un titre écrit par Joe Zawinul qui fut l’emblématique claviériste de Weather Report, les autres compositions, du leader (dont une suite en trois mouvements baptisée Memento) et de certains de ses acolytes, reflètent une atmosphère musicale plus apaisée et peut-être moins fougueuse qui garde cependant par moment une force et une intensité créatrice personnelle et collective.

Est-ce l’approche de la quarantaine (en octobre de cette année) qui rend cet enfant de Jazz In  Marciac plus serein, plus lyrique, plus contrôlé ?

Toujours est-il que s’il laisse toujours beaucoup de place à des soli parfois endiablés mais toujours généreux, le contact et l’engagement avec ses alter ego transatlantiques – surtout l’incroyable et fascinant Theo Crocker – changent sa donne stylistique et émotionnelle. Appuyée par les riffs mordants et incisifs de Manu Codjia.

Un pont entre deux meilleurs des mondes qui offre à Emile Parisien de nouveaux horizons.

Interprètes :

Emile Parisien : soprano saxophone

Theo Croker : trompette

Roberto Negro : piano

Manu Codjia : guitare

Joe Martin : contrebasse

Nasheet Waits : batterie

Didier PENNEQUIN tient un blog de jazz : Jazz-Gazette

©Photos Samuel Kirszenbaum

Laisser un commentaire

Pin It on Pinterest

Skip to main content
Hit Couleurs JAZZ

Emile Parisien masters musically and with talent the art of “at the same time”! His latest album at the head of an American-European all star band is the confirmation of this.

The soprano saxophonist and composer, associated with some of the best representatives of today’s jazz “made in the USA” – Theo Croker (trumpet), Joe Martin (double bass) and Nasheet Waits (drums) – and Europeans – Roberto Negro (piano) and Manu Codjia (guitar) – proposes in Louise (ACT Music), a new approach of his aspirations and inspirations.

With the exception of Madagascar, a track written by Joe Zawinul who was the emblematic keyboardist of Weather Report, the other compositions of the leader (including a suite in three movements called Memento) and of some of his acolytes, reflect a calmer and perhaps less fiery musical atmosphere which nevertheless retains at times a personal and collective creative force and intensity.

Is it the approach of forty years old (in October of this year) that makes this child of Jazz In Marciac more serene, more lyrical, more controlled?

If he still leaves a lot of room for his sometimes wild but always generous solos, the contact and the commitment with his transatlantic alter egos – especially the incredible and fascinating Theo Crocker – change his stylistic and emotional deal. Supported by Manu Codjia‘s biting and incisive riffs.

A bridge between two worlds best, that offers Emile Parisien new horizons.

Line Up:

Emile Parisien: saxophone soprano

Theo Croker : trumpet

Roberto Negro : piano

Manu Codjia : guitar

Joe Martin : double bass

Nasheet Waits : drums

Didier PENNEQUIN has his own jazz blog  : Jazz-Gazette

©Photos Samuel Kirszenbaum

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest